A New Year of Poetry Prompts

I won’t bore you with stats about my 2014. I won’t humblebrag or give you a link to my highest clicked post from February or some such month where I ranted on about something from my computer soapbox that we now don’t care about in December. I won’t bore you with resolutions that I probably won’t adhere to- I’m sure you have those of your own. We’re (well just me actually- and you can watch) am going to just keep moving full steam ahead- except I’m going to try something a little new this year.

Darth Vader says Happy New Year

Darth Vader says Happy New Year

I found a random page on the internet of poetry prompts. 120 of them, I believe. I haven’t even read them all, because I’m a skimmer and most of them sounded fun. Poetry, to me is like an exercise in words. Fun to write, interesting (sometimes) to read, and good for people like me with short attention spans. Maybe they’re a little self indulgent- but aren’t all blogs, really. If you want to partake in the prompts- then cool-let me know- I like writing buddies. I guess I lied about confessing my resolutions, my goal for 2015 is to get through them all. We’ll see.

Today I’ll kick it off with no prompt at all- it still being 2014 and all.

Year End

The year comes to a wilting conclusion.

Cold, wintery wispy finish.

It wasn’t a bad year.

Had it’s ups and downs as they all do.

As you do.

Peaks and valleys. Rivers and streams. Rushing waves and trickling babbling spaces.

Smiling faces. Tears too.

New beginnings. Commencement I suppose.

Let’s fathom up some arbitrary goals.

Ones we’ve mentioned before. Maybe last year perchance.

New inspiration in forms of forced blossom to strive for the better.

Seeds.

By June you’ll forget what they were.

Old Long Since, it goes, as we glance at the big hand turn.

Count downs and turn downs, sips and dips and jovial flips.

Old acquaintances slipped-

Past tranquil fingertips.

Consumed by other things.

Goodnight dear year, goodnight.

On you we will look with starry eyed affection, forgetting the nooks and crannies that sadness trickled into.

Good night.

Good morning sweet- new year. Hello new friend, new path of mine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “A New Year of Poetry Prompts

  1. Happy New Year Andrea! I hope you have a great one.

  2. Pingback: Patterns | From Playgrounds To Politics

  3. Pingback: I’ll For My Children ~ Poetry Challenge 2015 | From Playgrounds To Politics

Leave a Reply

