It’s Not My Job To Dictate What Every Tom Dick and Bigot Has In Their Hearts

I care less about what some twit on the Bachelor said than just about anything bachelse in the world right now. Though I do find it funny that a contestant on the cheesiest show out there THAT has been known to close-caption slurps in the bushes would have the credibility to call anyone else perverted.

The current contestant on the Bachelor, soccer player Juan Pablo Galavais, made comments that he didn’t think there should be a Gay or Bisexual Bachelor because it wouldn’t be a good influence on kids, also that gays are more perverted. (Dude, you’re on “The Bachelor, you’re already not a role model for kids). He later blamed his statement on English being his second language and perverted doesn’t mean to him what it means to us. He said:

“The word pervert was not what I meant to say and I am very sorry about it,” he said. “Everyone knows English is my second language and my vocabulary is not as broad as it is in Spanish and, because of this, sometimes I use the wrong words to express myself. What I meant to say was that gay people are more affectionate and intense and for a segment of the TV audience this would be too racy to accept. The show is very racy as it is and I don’t let my 5 year old daughter watch it. Once again, I’m sorry for how my words were taken. I would never disrespect anyone.”

He also used the old, my best friend is gay excuse. *Rolls eyes*

He sort of digs himself deeper with the gays are more affectionate line, because- huh? Stereotype much?

ABC followed up with a quick statement saying:

“Juan Pablo’s comments were careless, thoughtless and insensitive, and in no way reflect the views of the network, the show’s producers or studio.”

As much as I am pro same-sex ally and in my heart dream of equality, acceptance and peace, I don’t think it’s my job to dictate what every tom dick and loser has in theirs. As long as we fight for gay rights and continue to gain equality within the parameters of the government and try to eliminate hate speech and discrimination, I don’t think we need to control other’s personal beliefs. They are the ones that have to go to sleep at night with hate in their hearts. Guiding the hearts of the religious is the Pope’s job, not mine, and it seems like he’s going slowly into the direction of acceptance.

Many people are comparing the bachelor’s words to Duck Dynasty’s Phil Robertson. Though maybe they both are against gay marriage, I do think they are different. Phil Robertson was pretty vulgar in his interview and has been filmed over the years spewing some pretty nasty far-out stuff. It’s one thing to not believe in gay marriage, it’s another to publically preach how disgusting it is and compare it to bestiality. Robertson is an extremist  bigoted nut, Juan Pablo Galavais’ is a run of the mill close minded conservative. Big difference in their level of speech. Either way, in each situation both men can say or not say whatever they want, and coincidently I won’t be watching either show. One, I’d rather watch anything else in the world than the Bachelor, and two, I really have no interest in watching one guy make out with and date 2o women at once while arguing about the sanctity of marriage, now that’s the funny part.

2 responses to “It’s Not My Job To Dictate What Every Tom Dick and Bigot Has In Their Hearts

  1. That guy is an ignorant toolbag. He meant what he said, exemplified by his still-homophobic backtracking.

Leave a Reply

