Madonna Comes Under Fire For Using Racially Sensitive Language To Describe Her Son

Recently, singer Madonna, posted this picture on her Instagram.

madonna-n-word-instagram-2

As you can see the caption below she used the “N” word ending with an “A” to describe her white son that she had with former partner, Guy Ritchie. After coming under fire she deleted the picture and re-loaded with the caption that read “Ok let me start this again. #get off of my d— haters!” She later apologized in a statement, saying, “I am sorry if I offended anyone with my use of the N-word on Instagram. It was not meant as a racial slur…I am not a racist.” She also said, “There’s no way to defend the use of the word. It was all about intention…It was used as a term of endearment toward my son who is white.  I appreciate that it’s a provocative word and I apologize if it gave people the wrong impression. Forgive me.”

I know that some people claim that the N-word when ending with an “A” is not used the same as ending with an “R,” or even claim it’s a term of endearment. I don’t feel that I personally, yes, because I’m white, have the right to determine whether that is true or not for black people. I know that I would never use it and it does strike me as being inappropriate when Madonna uses it. I honestly feel that white people just don’t have the right to own or say any variation of the word and it’s simply disrespectful to think otherwise.

This isn’t the first time she has gotten slammed for her Instagram pictures. Around New Year’s she posted a picture of her 13-year-old son and his friends holding liquor bottles.

Madonna-Posts-A-Photo-Of-Her-Son-Rocco-With-Booze-Bootles-To-Instagram-LB

 

After being bombarded with negative comments, she responded, “No one was drinking we were just having fun! Calm down and get a sense of humour! Don’t start the year off with judgement!”

The second picture with the alcohol bottles is just not right. I’m not buying the excuse that they were just trying to be funny, but even if they were, then I guess I’m not seeing how modelling to very young teens that alcohol use is fun or funny.

What do you think is Madonna out of line or live and let live?

 

 

One response to “Madonna Comes Under Fire For Using Racially Sensitive Language To Describe Her Son

  1. I think she can afford to raise her son however she wants…hopefully those looking at this nonsense know better than to do the same. Treating your kids like thugs isn’t cute and IMO hardly raising them to be decent members in society.

Leave a Reply

