16 Artists or Bands That I Need To Introduce To My Kids

When you ask me how old I am I can answer, I am listened to new Nirvana songs at school dances years old.

When you ask me how old I am I can answer, I listened to new Nirvana songs at school dances years old.

The kids need to know that their parents met at a Dave Matthews Band concert

The kids need to know that their parents met at a Dave Matthews Band concert

My kids already know who Aerosmith is due to guitar hero, definitely classic stuff

My kids already know who Aerosmith is due to Guitar Hero, definitely classic stuff

Elvis is a part of pop culture that you can't do without; basically listening to Elvis is getting a history lesson

Elvis is a part of pop culture that you can’t do without; basically listening to Elvis is getting a history lesson

Much like Elvis, every human needs to listen to the Beatles

Much like Elvis, every human needs to listen to the Beatles

Janis Joplin is a one of a kind, everyone must listen to her at least once.

Janis Joplin is a one of a kind, everyone must listen to her at least once.

I will not raise children that do not know who Led Zeppelin is. They may actually be the best band ever.

I will not raise children that do not know who Led Zeppelin is. They may actually be the best band ever.

Lynyrd Skynyrd: this is comfort music.

Lynyrd Skynyrd: this is comfort music.

Madonna, definitely the stuff she made before she was 40

Madonna, definitely the stuff she made before she was 40

Obvious legend, that is all.

Obvious legend, that is all.

Every teenager needs to hear Pearl Jam, right?!

Every teenager needs to hear Pearl Jam, right?!

They don't have to like or listen to The New Kids On The Block more than once, just know that these guys existed is enough

They don’t have to like or listen to The New Kids On The Block more than once, just know that these guys existed is enough

Fact: There isn't a bad Steve Miller Band song. I used to listen to this record (yes a real record) non stop as a kid.

Fact: There isn’t a bad Steve Miller Band song. I used to listen to this record (yes a real record) non stop as a kid.

Sublime: Obviously not yet, but these guys are just good

Sublime: Obviously not yet, but these guys are just good

Fleetwood Mac: Stevie Nicks' voice is a little piece of Heaven

Fleetwood Mac: Stevie Nicks’ voice is a little piece of Heaven

If my kids can sing along to at least one Johnny Cash song, then I have done my job

If my kids can sing along to at least one Johnny Cash song, then I have done my job

5 responses to “16 Artists or Bands That I Need To Introduce To My Kids

  1. I’ve heard of all of these artists/bands, but have only really listened to 7 of them. Now, you are okay with the fact that your children might not like these artists/bands, right? lol

  2. That’s about right. Nice list!

  3. Billy Joel and Steve Miller blasting a sound only vinyl can produce on Saturday Mornings are good memories!

Leave a Reply

