Who The Heck Is ‘N SYNC: Field Guide For People In Their Teens

It’s official. I’m old. I turn on my WordPress stats and find that hordes of people are searching the internet for terms like “what are Justin Timberlake’s backup dancers names.” Hordes. And it’s only slightly frightening. (here’s my post from the other day where I jested about ‘N SYNC).

So I feel like it’s my duty to enlighten the unfortunate generation of folks that are growing up not knowing that JT used to look like this.

Shocking. I know.

Shocking. I know.

SO anyway.

Yes, Justin used to be in a boy band.

They were known as ‘N SYNC. They formed the group in 1995 and lasted until a “temporary hiatus” (that lasted forever) in 2002. It wasn’t until 2007 that we found out the group definitely was broken up.

NSYNCThat’s Justin in the middle. And the other guys weren’t just his backup dancers. They sang too. Their names are JC Chasez, Chris Kirkpatrick, Joey Fatone, and Lance Bass. THe name ‘N SYNC came from a play on the last letter of each member’s names: JustiN, ChriS, JoeY, James LanceN, and JC. (The band later nicknamed Bass “Lansten” so as not to throw off the last-letter theme of their name). Whatevs.

And yes swarms of preteens used to swoon over them.

Mind you this was all the same time as Backstreet Boys were popular. And I think there was this sort of boy band competition going on there and I think a majority of these guys were in the Mickey Mouse Club before they were in bands.

‘N SYNC sang songs like, “Girlfriend,” and “Bye Bye Bye” and “It’s Gonna Be Me.” And they got all sorts of awards and made Christmas specials and sold millions of records and t-shirts and lunch boxes.

And then Justin dated Britney Spears. And Lance came out as gay. And then Justin got hotter and wrote an awesome breakup album and then sort of played a part in exposing Janet Jackson’s boob at the Superbowl.

janet-jackson-superbowl-justin-timberlake2

Somehow after all that he transformed into this:

justinAnd finally last night the semi-anticipated reunion took place.

justin-timberlake-nsync-vmas-600x337

Where if you blinked you might have missed the part where the other guys were on stage.

And I can see how you’d think they were backup dancers. Because the other guys didn’t do much singing. Or performing.

That my friends is ‘N SYNC in a nutshell.

Oh, the 90s!

Oh, the 90s!

2 responses to “Who The Heck Is ‘N SYNC: Field Guide For People In Their Teens

  1. I love love love this post and feel myself being transported back to my high school and college days!!

Leave a Reply

