A Terrorist… On The Cover Of The Rolling Stone

Being on the cover of the Rolling Stone is glamorous. Musicians will tell you it’s something they aspire to. It’s an honor. There’s even been songs written about how it means that you’ve really made it.

Ha, ha, ha, I don’t believe it
Da, da, ah, ooh, don’t touch me
Hey,  Ray!
Hey, Sugar!
Tell them who we are …

Well, we’re big rock  singers
We’ve got golden fingers
And we’re loved everywhere we go (that  sounds like us)
We sing about beauty and we sing about truth
For  ten-thousand dollars a show (right)
We take all kinds of pills that give us  all kind of thrills
But the thrill we’ve never known
Is the thrill that’ll  get ya when you get your picture
On the cover of the Rolling  Stone

(Rolling Stone) Wanna see my picture on the cover
(Stone)Wanna  buy five copies for my mother (yeah)
(Stone)Wanna see my smilin’ face
On  the cover of the Rolling Stone (that’s a very, very, good idea)

I got a  freaky ole lady name a cocaine Katy
Who embroideries on my jeans
I got my  poor old grey haired daddy
Drivin’ my limousine
Now, it’s all designed to  blow our minds
But our minds won’t really be blown
Like the blow that’ll  get ya when you get your picture
On the cover of the Rolling  Stone

(Rolling Stone) Wanna see our pictures on the cover
(Stone)  Wanna buy five copies for our mothers (yeah)
(Stone) Wanna see my smilin’  face
On the cover of the Rolling Stone

(Hey, I know how, rock and  roll!)

[Freaky Guitar Break]

(Ah, that’s beautiful)

We got  a lot of little teenage blue-eyed groupies
Who do anything we say
We got a  genuine Indian Guru
Who’s teaching us a better way
We got all the friends  that money can buy
So we never have to be alone
And we keep getting richer  but we can’t get our picture
On the cover of the Rolling  Stone

(Rolling Stone) Wanna see my picture on the cover
(Stone) Wanna  buy five copies for my mother (I want one!)
(Stone) Wanna see my smilin’  face
On the cover of the Rolling Stone
On the cover of the Rolling  Stone

(Man, I don’t know why we ain’t on the cover, Baby)
(We’re  beautiful people)
(I ain’t kiddin’, why, we would make a beautiful  cover
(Fresh shot, right up front, man)
(I can see it now, we’ll be up on  the front)
(Smilin’, man … ahh, beautiful!)

This is the most recent cover of the Rolling Stone:

rolling-stone-magazine-Jahar-Tsarnaev-boston-bomber-coverand this is his accomplishment:

boston-bombing.jpgThey’ve managed to portray Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, one of the boys who participated in this year’s Boston Bombing at the Boston Marathon as a sexy rock star reminiscent of many musicians and celebrities that have graced the cover before him and in the headline blaming his monstrous acts on the failings of his family.

This cover is tasteless, hurtful, crass, insensitive, infuriating. I could go on. It’s just plain disgraceful.

Please Rolling Stone and any other media outlet that wants to turn terrorists and cold-blooded killers into rock stars: just stop.

7 responses to “A Terrorist… On The Cover Of The Rolling Stone

  1. I just don;t get where the logic is anymore. I just don;t get it.

  2. Pingback: Intersection Of Hard News and Cold Hard Cash | From Playgrounds To Politics

  3. I love that song by Dr.Hook! I rarely look at the magazines out and missed this. To see this cover I would have thought this was some new heartthrob I hadn’t heard of, but to find out it’s a bomber?? If they wanted to do a story on him at least use a mug shot or something.

    • I was just saying that to someone on twitter, they should’ve put him on there in a jump suit or behind bars, not like a glamorous heartthrob, as you said.

  4. Pingback: What’s Changed? | From Playgrounds To Politics

  5. Pingback: Boston Police’s Response.. The Real Face Of Terrorism | From Playgrounds To Politics

Leave a Reply

