What Not To Do If You Are Selling Kirby Vacuum Cleaners Door To Door

  • Tell me it’s going to take a half an hour, then be at my house for 2 hours instead.kirby
  • Tell me about the time you spent a night in jail because of a traffic violation.
  • Proceed to tell me about the day in court where you defended yourself for said traffic violation and how the judge was a jerk.
  • Tell me how one of the people whose house you went to asked you not to kill her when you went into her house for a demonstration; and then tell me that you are too lazy and not ambitious enough for that kind of thing, because you know, murder and robbery takes too much energy and planning.
  • Ask to use the bathroom and be in there for a really long time.
  • Tell me all about your new diet and everything you eat and drink in a day.
  • Talk to your boss about me on the phone while in my house right in front of me and list all the reasons why I said no to buying a $2,000 vacuum cleaner while I sit there feeling awkward.
  • Precede a sentence with, “I’m not racist,” then continue with mostly racist statements.
  • Tell me all about the contest that you want to win, which is a trip to Lake George, and that is why I need to buy a vacuum cleaner today, because for some reason it’s my job to help you with said contest.
  • Hand me a flyer about said contest with your sale goals and sales tips on it. Side note: this is for YOUR training purposes, not for customer’s viewing pleasure.
  • Ask me where my kids go to school. Definitely no.

All of these things happened the other day when some guy came to my door selling vacuums cleaners. My first reaction was no, but he promised he’d be in and out in a half an hour, so I caved. Since we are having a ton of people over for Easter, I figured I’d get a free shampoo out of the deal. Never again. The shampoo job wasn’t even that great.

26 responses to “What Not To Do If You Are Selling Kirby Vacuum Cleaners Door To Door

  1. I so agree with you. These door-to-door sales people are only topped (in the guilt category) by the children I don’t even know who want me to buy something for their school/group so they can do or go somewhere. The last Kirby guy that visited ended up stalking my younger sister. Enough said about that.

  2. I think we had this guys Dad about 40 years ago. Sounds way too familiar.

  3. the bathroom request would be the deal breaker, I’d be on QVC.com for the Dyson before he packed up his attachments and ran out the door

  4. “Hand me a flyer about said contest with your sale goals and sales tips on it. Side note: this is for YOUR training purposes, not for customer’s viewing pleasure.”
    So what were their secret sales tips? Spill!

  5. I know this is pretty old to add comments to but I just wanted to point out a few things. I just started working for a distributing company that sells the Kirby system. As far as the contest thing goes, we’re actually required to tell customers about it. I’m not really sure why and I kind of feel uncomfortable with the idea but it’s not like the guy just told you cuz he felt like it. Also, we are required to call the office several times while we’re still at your home and in front of you in order to let the manager know that we’re actually doing the demo. It’s also required to call in order to qualify for the contest.

    • Old comment but Rachel is full of it. You are not required to tell about the contest, that is only a pressure tactic to make you feel some type of way for the sales person. My Mom bought a Kirby when I was 10 and the sales person used the same tactic. Last year a Kirby salesman showed up at my door and I allowed him to enter. 5 minutes into his demo and it was the exact same demo I saw 15 years prior, he even had the same contest. I stopped him there and basically laid out the rest of his 2 hour sales pitch. Ever want to see a salesperson speechless tell him you watched the same demo word for word 15 years ago…

      • Actually we are required to tell about our contest. Or so I was taught in orientation. We are honest hard working people just trying to put food on the table. I know of people who won’t work or try to hit a lick at nothing. Now those people should be talked about on here…

  6. Pingback: Happy Anniversary To Me! | From Playgrounds To Politics

  7. The reason you heard the same pitch 40 yrs ago or 15 yrs ago is believe it or not they have been sold that way for 100 yrs this year and every year for 100 years they have sold more Kirby’s each year. Unfortunately Kirby will give anyone who’s knuckles don’t drag the floor a chance to sell. Most times they are friendly, courteous, But some aren’t and they never last very long because if your a jerk people don’t buy from a jerk. We try to take these kids and show them a way to make a living but it is difficult. If you had a salesperson who was not nice why blame it on Kirby we only get these kids after they have gone through school and parents and preachers get done with them. Most not all distributors are hard working trying to unmess these messed up individuals, believe me, it is no easy task. But every now and then there is a jewel out there and selling Kirby’s or any other product for that matter is a great way to start a career or a work life. Yes we do have contests every 6 months that they are rewarded for getting the sell now not later because they aren’t gonna call you back that just the nature of door to door sales. Of all the homes I’ve been in approx. 10,000 I have never been asked to leave I never asked for water, food or the bathroom. They are taught not to do that, it’s a no no big time. I was there to do a job and had fun doing it. I have sold in several states and people are the same everywhere. They love helping young people get ahead and Kirby affords them that chance to get ahead.Every distributor has a different way to run his business But I always try to instill in them Honesty, Hard work, and determination. They have to have a police background check and a drug test and if they fail either they don’t go to work for me. I spent 3 yrs in the Marine Corps and I don’t tolerate BS from my people they tow the line or their gone no second chances if they violate my rules.

  8. So if that same demo was used 15 years ago and is still being used that tells you the success rate must be good. Kirby is 100 years old they aren’t still in business for nothing.

  9. Sorry to necromance, but it just had to be said…
    Kirby has been around for 100 years because there are stupid, gullible, ignorant, weak-willed people that forceful “direct-selling” tactics (and almost Mafia-style financing, 21% – you know that $600 “discount”? You’re paying for it later…) still work on for some reason, but I get that its mainly because people put up with the bs instead of calling the cops…nuff said.

    Tl;dr: Kirby salesman comes, call cops.

  10. I have no respect for the Kirby company. They may have a good vacuum, but the way they teach their salesman to pitch is downright lying. I don’t wanna hear how they are “just in the neighborhood cleaning carpets for free,” and how you’re doing a poor college kid a favor because he gets $40 plus a trip if he meets a certain number of cleanings. I don’t want to hear about how it will only take 30 min, because it WILL take longer than that. They say everything BUT the fact they want to sell you a vacuum. Then when they get in the door and take 45 min to put together a vacuum. Kirby salesman – Quit fake calling your supervisor and pretending he is mad that you are knocking money off the price. You lied to me about the real price in an attempt to rip me off! Don’t make up fake numbers about the average person replacing their carpet every 3 yrs and how it costs $10k to replace. Those numbers are so fake and wrong! And anything short of yelling at them or calling the cops will not make them leave! I admit to being an idiot for ever letting them in. But they will not fool me twice! Kirbybuster is right – they have been in business because they lie to gullible people who are impulsive and will max out their credit card to anyone with a good pitch.

  11. good = convincing to gullible, impulsive people.

  12. Hi i recently started working for kirby and we are actually not required to say we have aome contest and we do not call the boss whilebin the persons home we have the boss come in and we do not talk money at all we are paid for the demonstration and if we sell then we get commission so in all just because other kirby distributors are rude why not give others a chance who could be kind and give you a great carpet cleaning. And not to.mention why would you wanna buy a vacuum that is 50 dollars but it dorsnt do its job and its ginna break down and you will have to buy another plus kirby is long lasting and does more than just vacuum it shampos cleans walls, wood floors, crackd and creveses, and can take light bulbs down and blows up air matresses or baloons it doea almost anything except cook dinner do the dishes and laundry. But honestly give kirby a chance instead of being haters. Even if you arent going to buy these kids are just trying to make a living and every demo actually gives them the h opp e.and drive to keep going. Have a heart America! This is what we are built off of practicaly right!? Sales are around us every day and everyday we buy mostly garbage cheap things why not put your money in good investments

  13. I have been with Kirby for 1 year now and I can tell you the contests are not just a pressured sales tactic.. “James Britton” The contests are indeed real and I have been lucky enough to sale enough Kirbys to attend the vacation spots. We have to meet a certain number of sales in order to qualify for the contests ! So it is not fake, though very optional for the sales person to mention it. Maybe majority of you shouldn’t even speak about a company that you are absolutely brainless about. If you really knew how your precious “Dyson” worked and how “well” it picked up all the filth in your house, then maybe you’d change your mind about speaking so badly about a wonderful product that will last you for a long time. Like above comments, Kirby has been around for 100 years, so yes they must be doing something right and there are many successful people tied to the company. Certain sales people have different ways of selling a product. Don’t let it cloud your judgement on the business as a whole. That also goes to people who have tried working for Kirby and quit because they are not willing to work hard to be successful. Just a bunch of quitters who are looking to live paycheck to paycheck. HAHAH, I enjoy working for Kirby and my clients have all loved me and welcomed me into their home, and sometimes offered me dinner lol 🙂 So it really depends on the person. This does not speak for every salesperson.

    • I agree!! I have not got to go on a trip yet. I just started. But I love it and the customers are very welcoming and for the most part hospitable! Keep up the good work Jenny!

  14. 1. Do not ignore a sign at the entrance of the subdivision that says “PRVATE PROPERTY! NO TRESPASSING! NO SOLICITATIONS”!
    2. Do not tell me if you sell me a $2600 (!) vacuum cleaner, I will help send you to Florida…why not just ask for a $2600 donation to help pay for your trip to Florida? If I had that kind of moolah, I’d go!
    3. Do not tell me you have no phone and no office.
    4. Do not lie about being a carpet cleaning company, tell me at the start you are pitching an outrageously expensive vacuum cleaner.
    5. do not tell me that the carpet cleaning service I have used for 25 years ” has been taking me for a ride”. I am thoroughly satisfied with them, and my Dyson.
    6. Do not approach my property without a business card, if I bother to let you invade my privacy.
    7. Do not try any of your outdated sales techniques with me; I NEVER buy anything I don’t want, period!
    8. Do not suddenly tell me that you will drop the price from $2600 to $i1,000!
    9. Do not tell me how many of my neighbors have already bought your product; I discovered that NOBODY did!
    10. Do not ever show up on my porch again. Heed the signs. Someone finally had the sense to call the police, and they issued you a warning about soliciting and trespassing!

  15. I’m about start selling Kirby homecare systems and want to make something. clear. As it’s been stated, Kirby has been in business for over 100 years. In that time, the Kirby’s have been sold exclusively during in-home demonstrations. You will not find them in Walmart, Target, K-mart, or Sears. If you buy one online through ebay or amazon, you will not get the 3 year warranty or the lifetime rebuild policy. That means if your Kirby is destroyed, it will be rebuilt to factory standards.

    During training we compare Kirby’s to Dyson, Rainbow, Hoover, Dirt Devil, and many other brands. We have new models of said brands that customers traded in. The biggest reason anyone should have a Kirby is that they suck more and outlast the “competitors” by 25 years on average. Most Vacs get replaces every 3-5 years. If you’re buying a new Dyson at that rate, then you’re spending $2500-$4000 over that same length of time. Wouldn’t it be easier to get a machine you only have to pay for once and you can pass down to your children or grandchildren with the factory rebuild policy?

  16. Also, what kind of salesperson takes “no” for an answer? You’re not a good salesperson if you roll over without some resistance.

  17. I think the number one thing Kirby sales people should avoid is not running immediately when a cranky 8 month pregnant lady answers the door. The one who came to my door, ignored my No Soliciting sign and identified himself as offering carpet cleaning services. I said I wasn’t interested, but he pushed his way in anyway to inspect my carpets and use my bathroom. I was furious and told him that he had 30 seconds to get out of my house before I called the police as this was now a home invasion. I had my phone out and I was sceaming like a crazy person so he did leave. I didn’t find out until later that the supposed carpet cleaning company, Paradigm Innovations, is actually an independent distributor for Kirby vacuums. I feel so bad for people who have had these people barge in and not leave. My advice is not to try to be polite. If you want them to leave, tell them one time. If they refuse, tell them you are calling the police and mean it.

  18. Understanding each demo makes the sales person provide for his family . Unless , many people rather have them on the welfare list! When you help people .. The universe give it to you as it’s is .

  19. Uncommon common sense

    I am not affiliated with Kirby in anyway but I have sold Avon, somewhat, door-to-door. I have always heard great things about their vacuums though. As for the sales people you have dealt with, they are people. Each and every person is different and so it goes with sales people. Some lack courtesy, honesty, integrity and manners all together but that is not every sales person whether Kirby, Avon or any other company. It seems to me that Kirby has a set of standards by which they want the distributors to adhere to, and then those distributors have standards they want their sales reps to adhere to (such as calling in the middle of the demo or the supervisor showing up, or whether to mention contest or not). Understand that part and then try to understand that the personality and morals of each door-to-door sales person varies from one to the next just like those who are in sales at Walmart or any where else. No one person is the same in any aspect. With that being said, don’t hold the next sales rep responsible for the idiot that knocked on the door before him. Same with the company. Every company takes on their fair share of jerks and idiots. Time weeds out the bad apples but back ground checks couldn’t hurt either. But, from the sound of it, that is left to the distributors discretion. This is not a perfect world and we are not perfect people. Don’t take it out on the vacuums. I have never heard a complaint from anyone who owns a Kirby and that says a lot to me about the quality of the vacuums. Plus, most of my friends that own these vacuums inherited them from their parents or grand parents and one from his great grand parents. I do want one these vacuums but I wouldn’t be one of their sales reps because I never know who’s home I will be walking into. They might be one of those idiots that thinks it is okay to treat me in any manner of rude they feel that day or worse.

  20. Uncommon common sense

    I am not affiliated with Kirby in anyway but I have sold Avon, somewhat, door-to-door. I have always heard great things about their vacuums though. As for the sales people you have dealt with, they are people. Each and every person is different and so it goes with sales people. Some lack courtesy, honesty, integrity and manners all together but that is not every sales person whether Kirby, Avon or any other company. It seems to me that Kirby has a set of standards by which they want the distributors to adhere to, and then those distributors have standards they want their sales reps to adhere to (such as calling in the middle of the demo or the supervisor showing up, or whether to mention contest or not). Understand that part and then try to understand that the personality and morals of each door-to-door sales person varies from one to the next just like those who are in sales at Walmart or any where else. No one person is the same in any aspect. With that being said, don’t hold the next sales rep responsible for the idiot that knocked on the door before him. Same with the company. Every company takes on their fair share of jerks and idiots. Time weeds out the bad apples but back ground checks couldn’t hurt either. But, from the sound of it, that is left to the distributors discretion. This is not a perfect world and we are not perfect people. Don’t take it out on the vacuums. I have never heard a complaint from anyone who owns a Kirby and that says a lot to me about the quality of the vacuums. Plus, most of my friends that own these vacuums inherited them from their parents or grand parents and one from his great grand parents. I do want one these vacuums but I wouldn’t be one of their sales reps because I never know who’s home I will be walking into. They might be one of those idiots that thinks it is okay to treat me in any manner of rude they feel that day or worse. Everyone is not to be trusted but not everyone is untrustworthy.

  21. Say what you will. there is NO EXCUSING the kind of behavior, that has been described on consumer sites, that Kirby sales people have displayed. So some of you Kirby rep’s are honest and have made friends along with your success. Good for you, but it is very, very obvious you are in a very small minority of Kirby distributors and their sales representatives. KIRBY is responsible for their distributor’s actions. If THEY do nothing to weed out the bad seeds, they deserve the credit for allowing the dishonesty and inconsiderate behavior associated with their product to exist.
    I searched the internet to find out, “Why are so many people selling their Kirby vacuums?”; because there are thousands of used Kirby’s for sale at bargain prices, compared to the original prices, on the internet, the local sales papers, community newsletter sales listings, and thrift stores. The results of that search brought up hundreds, maybe thousands – I got tired of reading them, of complaints about Kirby and their representative’s sales techniques.
    I have a Kirby vacuum that was sitting in the grass behind a commercial building where I do business, which I got for the cost of a belt. I only use it on carpeting, I have a small commercial vacuum, with a long cord, that I carry over my shoulder to clean the hard floor surfaces, so I don’t care about the Kirby’s weight or installing accessories on it. The good thing is that it does clean well and, unlike the Oreck my mother-in-law gave us, its use does not result in everything being covered in dust afterward.
    Would I pay more than $200.00 for a Kirby? Never. There is no need. The used market is full of used Kirby vac’s that, I presume, disgusted owners are selling just to be rid of the reminder of what they paid for them and the experience of buying them. Forget about the attachments, they aren’t worth using. It’s cheaper, and easier, to have the small high powered Hoover, over-the-shoulder, vacuum for the bare floors, and the top-rated Hoover rug shampooer for the carpets. The accessories are just sales gimmicks.
    People being bothered, even harassed, by dishonest, inconsiderate Kirby sales rep’s need to get a spine and GET THEM OUT OF YOUR HOUSE! In fact, no one that you haven’t personally made an appointment to come into your house should NOT be allowed to enter your house – ever. This isn’t the America of the 1950’s!

  22. I think the person above who said that Kirby’s suck more said it best.

Leave a Reply

