Holy Name Change Batman! ‘Mandreago’ is now ‘From Playgrounds To Politics’

Juliet:

O Romeo, Romeo! wherefore art thou Romeo? Deny thy father and refuse thy name; Or, if thou wilt not, be but sworn my love, And I’ll no longer be a Capulet.

Romeo:

[Aside] Shall I hear more, or shall I speak at this?

Juliet:

‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy; Thou art thyself, though not a Montague. What’s Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot, Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part Belonging to a man. O, be some other name! What’s in a name? that which we call a rose By any other name would smell as sweet; So Romeo would, were he not Romeo call’d, Retain that dear perfection which he owes Without that title. Romeo, doff thy name, And for that name which is no part of thee Take all myself.

Romeo:

I take thee at thy word: Call me but love, and I’ll be new baptized; Henceforth I never will be Romeo.

Maybe Juliet didn’t care that Romeo was a Montague, but in the end, it held them back.  I have been thinking lately about the power of a name, and honestly I think my blog’s nonsense name is holding me back.  I started this blog wanting to be able to write about a  broad range of topics and not be confined by its name.  I still want the same thing, this is still the same blog and I’m still going to write about generally the same sort of things; but I am at a point where I want a name that people can recognize, pronounce, remember, and maybe draw a few unsuspecting readers in from the depths of the internet who would have said, what the heck is a Mandreago, but would be intrigued by what my new name is going to be.  I love the old name, Mandreago, but I love my new name more.  My blog will now be called, From Playgrounds To Politics.  It captures what I am about still, not just one thing, while being a bit more catchy-flowy.  I like to discuss an array of topics, anywhere from kids on the playground to worldwide politics.  If you are familiar with my twitter feed, I talk a lot about public schools and love to get into the mix when it comes to controversial topics and the latest political issues.  I hope this new change will be a positive one and give me some direction and somewhat of a brand identity, something that I felt I was lacking.  Thank you for transitioning with me, I hope it’s not too confusing. I’d also appreciate whatever feedback you have for me and my new name and new look.  I will also be changing the Facebook page accordingly. I’m still kind of playing with the background and design of my site as always I’m not sure I love the mix of images yet and I need to let it digest, so bear with me and throw some feedback my way. Good, bad, ugly or indifferent.  What do you think?

12 responses to “Holy Name Change Batman! ‘Mandreago’ is now ‘From Playgrounds To Politics’

  1. I like it. It’s your blog so you change as often as you want or need to. How did you get your top posts and pages to come up? I can’t get mine no matter what I try.

  2. i love the new name, and i agree unsuspecting people are more apt to click on it than with the other name… I also really like the different fonts for each name (“playground” and “politics”)… my only suggestion and this is if it is even possible is instead of the dark maroon and black writing, which i think makes the words get a little lost, i wonder if you can have a lighter header color or possibly a flag that looks like it was drawn by a child…. (going along with the “A boy after my own (political) heart”)… trying to incorporate children and politics in one photo rather than having the two separately.
    just a thought…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

