Thankfulness

I stayed up late last night fixing trying to fix the ascetics of my blog.  I wasn’t really happy with it, changed it back and  forth, got some feedback, and still wasn’t happy.  After staying up way past the time that I should have and frying my brain with frustration, I went to bed and proceeded to dream about designing my site.  Included in said dream was various people I talk to online.  Going in and out of sleep I was having conversations with them, with myself, and couldn’t shut the busyness off.  It was exhausting that I couldn’t escape my annoying thoughts even in slumber.  I am thankful that my gripes are minor annoyances in life and my complaints are mostly first world problems.  I am thankful my nightmares include blogging woes and not unspeakable horrors.

Many bloggers and people I follow online are posting things they are thankful for every day during the month of November.  There’s no way I can (nor want to) keep up with that sort of commitment.  So here we go, jam-packed into one day, this is my Thankfulness Post.

I say plenty of random things online.  I like to have a good rant.  I like to chat it up.  I like to wish people well, reconnect with old acquaintances and make new friends.  I’ve been writing posts for this blog for a couple of months, and lately I’ve been getting what I’d consider a good amount of traffic and positive feedback.  I am thankful I have full autonomous freedom to express myself.  I get to write a fluffy, sometimes serious, funny blog.  If I don’t want to write I don’t.  If I do, I do.  I am thankful I have the free time to mess around, to write and communicate online.

For months I had painful scar tissue in my right side from my surgery.  If I lay down on my left side it would pull and be bothersome.  Just in the last week, poof.  It has subsided.  I am thankful for the light at the end of the tunnel.  I am thankful for my children’s resilience, their health, their sound minds, and for mine and my husband’s health as well.

Last night my two-year old peed in my bed.  I had to change him and change the sheets.  For the remainder of the night he wanted to sleep on top of me.  I am thankful my arms are the ones he looks to for comfort and our bed is where my kids crawl into in the middle of the night to seek warmth, comfort and loving arms when they wake up.

My husband works a lot so I don’t have to.  When he comes home from work all my kids want is Daddy.  He gets to be the ‘good cop’ most of the time, but if anybody gets diapers changed or bathroom cleanup it’s mommy all the way.  If someone is sick, my arms are the cuddling arms.  I am thankful I have gotten to be a Stay-at-Home-Mom with all my children since the day they were born.  I always planned and continue to plan to be their primary caregiver.  I am thankful I can choose to be lazy, play with my kids, go to the beach when it’s sunny, build a snowman when it’s winter and have freedom to do any number of creative things.  My dreams have come true.  I am thankful to be the one to clean and to teach and to protect my children, and to be the one they want to do what I call, the dirty work of Parenting.

When I started my blog I had a friend send me messages pointing out my grammar mistakes.  When I was sick I had so many people wish me well, several in particular that really made an impact on me.  I’ve literally had tears in my eyes stemming from laughter from conversations I’ve had back and forth online.  I am thankful for the strangers that have become good friends through social media.

My parents have helped me in ways that I can’t even begin to count.  I have different, but valued and irreplaceable relationships with each of my siblings.  On Tuesday my husband and I will celebrate our eighth wedding Anniversary.  I am thankful for my family beyond being able to express.

If I had the money to send my kids to a private school they’d be enrolled on a millisecond.  That being said, it is a dream of mine to one day start a charity to benefit students of Rochester City School District, the flailing district where my kids attend school.  I am thankful for everyday comforts that we do have that are easy to take for granted.  I am thankful we have food, temperate shelter, clothes, transportation, and what luxury items we do have.

Two local visionaries Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony are heroes of mine.  I know that sounds cheesy or maybe cliché, but it’s honestly true.  I have read their words and am moved by their work and their voices.  I am thankful for my education, my freedom of thought, my power to vote and the political process we have now, even though I recognize there are flaws and gaps in the system that need to be amended.

Sometimes I’m irrational, sometimes sarcastic, sometimes curious.  I am thankful for critical thought of both myself and others around me that I can learn from.  I am thankful I am ever evolving.  I am thankful of the compassion of others.  I am thankful I have the freedom to be liberal while at the same time I am thankful not everyone has the same views and thought processes, so there’s opportunity for balance and change and debates and ah-ha moments in the world.  I am thankful for the written word, thankful for comedy, for romantic movies, for other people’s passion for cooking and gardening and historic preservation.  I am thankful for good health insurance and time to waste.  I am thankful we all have our own opinions and are entitled to just that.

What are you thankful for?

9 responses to “Thankfulness

  1. I am really thankful for all the friends who sent their thoughts and prayers after my Father passed this week. It means so much, it really does.

  2. Great post. We decided before we had kids that my wife would stay at home. It hasn’t been easy, but we’ve made it work and wouldn’t have it any other way. With the way our kids are, I can’t imagine *how* it could have worked any other way.

  3. I’m thankful for your funny quips, snarky comments, and this beautiful essay.

  4. I’m thankful for your honest blogging. You are truly fortunate in so many ways. I am blessed with my kids, even though they don’t always help as much as I might want, lol. But they’re great kids. I’m grateful I had such great parents who adopted me. I’m grateful for my divorce. LOL I’m grateful for new beginnings, for my job, for our shelter and creature comforts. I’m grateful for my true friends and my new friends who prove to be true. And I’m grateful for you, Mango. You inspire!!

Leave a Reply

