Top Ten Favorite Children’s Books

Top Ten Tuesday.. Favorite Children’s Books

Narrowing down my favorite Children’s Books is darn near impossible.  I’m pretty sure a top 100 list would have been more appropriate than a top ten, but that certainly would’ve been way too many pictures to insert into this post.  I narrowed the list down by books that are special to me and conjure fond memories of reading them over and over again to my children.  There are definitely many titles that didn’t make the list, not because they aren’t equally worthy, but because it may not have been on the frequent rotation list for my kids.

On the Day You Were Born by Debra Fraiser

This was given to us as a gift when my first child was born. Impossible to make it to the end without crying.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There’s a Wocket in My Pocket by Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss is one of the best authors of all time, so many good titles to choose from. This is one I’ve read to my kids time and time again. Love the silly rhymes and nonsense words.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go Dog Go by P.D. Eastman

Before my son could read he would recite this book to me word for word with surprising accuracy. My kids all love discussing the pictures in this as much as reading the words.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Owl Babies by Martin Waddell

Three owl babies, three kids of my own. Love Love Love how the owl babies wish for their mother to return.. and she does.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Night Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

Best bedtime book ever, hands down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Night Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann

I like how this book has very few words, I make up a different storyline every time I read it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

I hemmed and hawed over what Eric Carle book to pick. His words and illustrations are amazing and every book of his I read is better than the next. This one is just a classic, and can’t be left out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Big Words for Little People by Jamie Lee Curtis

Little Kids are not too small to hear big words. I love the lessons and family theme in this story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Magic Tree House Series by Mary Pope Osbourne

I absolutely love this whole series. These are for elementary school aged children and are great for kids that are new to reading chapter books. Brilliantly written, great way for kids to learn some history while reading a great storyline.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Each Peach Pear Plum by Janet and Allan Ahlberg

A fun read that was a favorite of mine as a child and a favorite to read to my kids. Brings back memories of my own childhood, I had learned to recite this myself and would just say the poem out loud even without the book in front of me.

6 responses to “Top Ten Favorite Children’s Books

  1. nice list – classics forever

  2. Our #1 favorite book in this house is The Gruffalo! We had to throw or copy in the trash yesterday so that gives me the excuse to go buy the deluxe hard copy with The Gruffalo Child too 😀

  3. There is a video for “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”. Calms the kids down, actually.

Leave a Reply

